Photography // What is New Formalism?

“I’m aware that you could consider large parts of what I wrote above as my own personal preferences. I realize that. I am not particularly interested in, say, New Formalism photography simply because I’m not overly interested in investigating photography that way, especially given that so much of the work is so one-dimensional. To a large extent, that’s my personal preference. I prefer photography that looks at the world.” –  Jörg M. Colberg

I too, feel the same as Colberg as whilst I find the concept of New Formalism photography interesting, I prefer to look at photography from a processed perspective. A perspective that considers the context of the work I’m looking at and for this reason I find difficulty in producing new formalist photographs for my first assignment. I strongly believe that all photography should employ the use of context because without such, it’s just another photograph.

Leave a comment