Photography // Sound & Vision

I started to have a look at examples of different types of films made from still images in the three areas that I am looking at and here are the three that stood out to me. I have lightly analysed each video in order to show the positives and negatives of each one to help me decide on which route I would like to go down for my own piece.

https://vimeo.com/46620661

Linear Narrative example

La jetée is arguably the most recognisable narrative film that uses still images and this film depicts the importance of editing and how the choice of photographs can improve or hinder a film. The film tells a story of time travel in a post-apocalyptic Paris during the aftermath of WWII and the film is extremely well filmed and shows some serious skill in the editing process of filmmaking.

Experimental Montage example

Another video that I am looking at as part of my research is MS MR’s music video for their song ‘Hurricane’. Whilst we are not allowed to use copyrighted music, there is nothing saying that we cannot compose/record our own song and then add photographs alongside that. This video in particular is interesting as it is a mix of moving and still image which makes for an interesting effect, the editing choices are good in the video and overall I like the look of it. I would definitely say this one is an experimental piece.

Documentary montage example

This is not an awarded or professional piece of work, this is merely a student piece during a university degree and this is what the student created. For me, I would like to achieve something much greater for my piece and this is the ultimate linear narrative and documentary montage using a voice over. Whilst the storyline is good, this isn’t exciting or fun and therefore I don’t think this is the kind of route I would like to go down for my assignment.

Leave a comment